From the start, Van Halen (the band) were destined for greatness and the fame that goes with it. Built primarily on the guitar prowess of Eddie Van Halen, one could not deny the excellent showmanship of David Lee Roth, and the musicianship of Michael Anthony (bass), and Alex Van Halen (drums). They created a formidable debut that has the rare Diamond sales status. Eventually, David Lee Roth would need a brighter spotlight, and would leave Van Halen in search of it (one could say that he found it for a time). He would be replaced by Montrose singer, Sammy Hagar. This iteration of Van Halen would release four studio sets before conflict would disrupt the band again. One of those is For Unlawful Carnal Knowledge. Issued in 1991, the album sold 3 million copies in the US, and yielded three singles that include “Poundcake”, “Right Now”, and “Top Of The World”.

On July 12, Rhino Entertainment will expand For Unlawful Carnal Knowledge that will provide a remastering of the original album, and include rarities and live music from a December 4, 1991 show at the Westend Market Place in Dallas, TX. The Box set will pack in 2CDs, 2LP, and a Blu-ray that will provide the December 1991 Dallas show on video, and 4 videos for “Poundcake”, “Runaround”, “Right Now”, and “Top Of The World” The 2LP vinyl will have the VH logo etched on Side 4. A booklet rounds out the offerings of this Expanded Edition of For Unlawful Carnal Knowledge.

There will be a Special Edition bundle that will have 2LP, 2CD, BD, and four 7″ vinyl singles along with a 2LP/2CD/BD Box. Expect DD offerings as well.

For Unlawful Carnal KnowledgeVan Halen

CD1/LP1 and LP2 (Original Album Remastered)
01 Poundcake
02 Judgment Day
03 Spanked
04 Runaround
05 Pleasure Dome
06 In ‘N’ Out
07 Man on a Mission
08 The Dream Is Over
09 Right Now
10 316
11 Top Of The World

CD2 (Rarities & Live)
01 Right Now (Alternate Organ Version – Single Mix)
02 The Dream is Over (Instrumental)
03 Right Now (Alternate Guitar Version – Single Mix)
Live at the Westend Market Place, Dallas TX – December 4, 1991
04 Poundcake
05 Judgment Day
06 There’s Only One Way to Rock
07 Runaround
08 Why Can’t This Be Love
09 Panama
10 A Apolitical Blues
11 Finish What Ya Started
12 I Can’t Drive 55
13 Best of Both Worlds
14 Top of the World

BD (Previously Unreleased Live At Westend Market Place – Dallas, TX – December 4, 1991/Videos)
01 Poundcake
02 Judgment Day
03 There’s Only One Way to Rock
04 Runaround
05 Why Can’t This Be Love
06 Panama
07 A Apolitical Blues
08 Finish What Ya Started
09 I Can’t Drive 55
10 Best of Both Worlds
11 Top of the World
Promo Videos
01 Poundcake
02 Runaround
03 Right Now
04 Top Of The World

7″ Vinyl Singles
Poundcake b/w Pleasure Dome
Top Of The World b/w In ‘N’ Out
Right Now (Organ Version) b/w Man On A Mission
Right Now” (Guitar Version)  b/w The Dream Is Over (Instrumental Version)

By MARowe