When you talk OGs, then you have to remember Lou Reed. Seemingly a fringe artist with a big hit (“Walk On The Wild Side”), he was a strong essential to Velvet Underground during their short NYC reign. His off the cuff solo period was certainly not for everyone…but for those that adopted him, he delivered 5 stars most of the time. He passed in 2013 at the age of 71 but left behind his mark and 21 studio albums along with two classic live sets (three if you count Take No Prisoners, right, Mark?)

On April 19 (and a special vinyl LP for RSD on April 20), the Light In The Attic label will release a tribute set for Lou Reed with tracks recorded by Keith Richards, Rickie Lee Jones, Rufus Wainwright, Joan Jett, Rosanne Cash, and other artists. The 12-song album is being named The Power Of The Heart: A Tribute To Lou Reed

The RSD vinyl LP is pressed on Silver Nugget-colored vinyl and will be housed in a silver laminated jacket. The CD (not an RSD special) will be housed in a digipak. Both issues will include liner notes, photos, and other good things. One track will be omitted on the LP and is considered bonus to the CD. And there’s DD.

You can hear Keith Richards’ version of “I’m Waiting For The Man” below.

The Power Of The Heart: A Tribute To Lou ReedVarious Artists
01 I’m Waiting For The Man – Keith Richards
02 I Can’t Stand It – Maxim Ludwig and Angel Olsen
03 Perfect Day – Rufus Wainwright
04 I’m So Free – Joan Jett & The Blackhearts
05 Sally Can’t Dance – Bobby Rush
06 Walk On The Wild Side – Rickie Lee Jones
07 I Love You, Suzanne – The Afghan Whigs
08 Coney Island Baby – Mary Gauthier
09 Legendary Hearts – Lucinda Williams
10 New Sensations – Automatic
11 Magician – Rosanne Cash
12 The Power Of The Heart – Brogan Bentley (CD Only Track) 

By MARowe