Gentle Giant are a well-loved progressive-styled if only by the attachment of the cult following they have. They were not afraid to mix up the sound progression but that was a part of their charm. The band existed for only a decade before disbanding wherein they released a string of eleven albums with a few different labels. One of those is The Missing Piece. This album was issued originally in 1977 and performed respectfully on the charts. Steven Wilson is a fan of the band and has extensively remixed their albums for reissue sets.

On February 16, Gentle Giant will reissue The Missing Piece with new Steven Wilson remixes (original album, 96kHz/24-bit Stereo, Dolby Atmos mixes) along with an anticipated Steven Wilson 5.1 Surround Sound mixes in both LPCM and DTS-HD. The updated set will also include a previously unreleased bonus track with an outtake (“Winning”). As is Steven Wilson‘s modu operandi, hi-res instrumental mixes will be found on the BD-Audio disc as well.

The Missing Piece will be reissued on CD, DD, BD-Audio/CD, and two versions of wax that include standard black 180g-weight vinyl LP, and a Limited Edition Transparent Green 180g-weight vinyl LP. You can pre-order all of those here.

The Missing Piece (2024 Remix) – Gentle Giant
01. Two Weeks in Spain
02. I’m Turning Around
03. Betcha Thought We Couldn’t Do It
04. Who Do You Think You Are?
05. Mountain Time
06 As Old As You’re Young
07 Memories Of Old Days
08 Winning
09 For Nobody
Bonus Track
10 Winning (Outtake)

By MARowe