Let’s get the obvious fact out first…Johnny WInter is one of Rock’s great guitarists that is unbelievably still detached from the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. Now…with that egregious fact out of the way, Johnny Winter has enjoyed quite the career. Before signing with Columbia Records for his emergence, Johnny Winter recorded a series of tracks that were issued on GRT Records and Janus Records. The rest if it is Rock history that I sincerely hope will end in proper inclusion into the Rock HoF (not that I give credence to that institution, it’s just the right thing to do regardless).

On December 15, Omnivore Records will release a collected set to be called The Johnny Winter Story (The GRT/Janus Recordings). The 2CD set will be packed with 33 collected tracks that should be of interested to JW fans. All of the tracks have been newly remastered for this set. the booklet will include original liner notes from the 1969 original releases that had included the tracks to be heard on this set.

The Johnny Winter Story will be issued on 2CD and DD.

The Johnny Winter Story (The GRT/Janus Recordings)Johnny Winter

01 Ease My Heart
02 That’s What Love Does
03 Crying In My Heart
04 The Guy You Left Behind
05 Shed So Many Tears
06 Creepy
07 Gangster Of Love
08 Road Runner
09 Leave My Woman (Wife) Alone
10 I Can’t Believe You Want To Leave
11 Broke And Lonely
12 Oh My Darling
13 By The Light Of The Silvery Moon
14 Five After Four A.M.
15 Parchman Farm
16 Livin’ In The Blues
17 Leavin’ Blues
18 Thirty-Eight, Thirty-Two, Twenty

01 Bad News
02 Kind Hearted Woman
03 Out Of Sight
04 Low Down Gal Of Mine
05 Going Down Slow
06 Avocado Green
07 Stay By My Side
08 I Had To Cry
09 Kiss Tomorrow Goodbye
10 Harlem Nocturne (Instrumental)
11 Easy Lovin’ Girl
12 Spiders Of The Mind
13 My World Turns Around Her
14 Take A Chance On My Love (Instrumental)
15 Please Come Home For Christmas

By MARowe