Johnny Marr first got his footing with The Smiths, where he played for five years before rifts formed between him and Morrissey. Prompted by those, Marr left and played guitars for a number of bands that include The Pretenders, Modest Mouse, The The, and other bands. He also carved a successful solo career out for himself. To date, Johnny Marr has released four studio albums (The Messenger – 2013, Playland – 2014, Call The Comet – 2018, Fever Dreams, Pts 1-4 – 2022) along with a well-received live set (Adrenaline Baby – 2015).

On November 3, BMG will release a selection of music from those albums including a collection of demos, non-album singles, and alternate versions. This 24-track 2CD compilation will be called Spirit Power: The Best of Johnny Marr. The 2LP package will offer 19 tracks. A booklet is included along with a signed insert. There are two new tracks here (“The Answer”, and “Somewhere”). “Somewhere” can be heard below.

Spirit Power will be presented in CD, 2CD, DD, and 2LP black 180g-weight vinyl with gatefold jacket.

Spirit Power: The Best of Johnny MarrJohnny Marr

01 Armatopia
02 New Town Velocity
03 Easy Money
04 Spirit Power and Soul
05 Hi Hello
06 Somewhere
07 The Messenger
08 European Me
09 I Feel You
10 The Answer
11 Dynamo
12 Spiral Cities
13 The Priest

01 Night and Day
02 Sensory Street
03 Walk Into the Sea
04 Upstarts
05 Candidate
06 Tenement Time
07 Hi Hello (Demo)
08 Somewhere (Demo)
09 The Answer (Crazy Face Version)
10 The Messenger (Demo)
11 Speak Out Reach Out (Crazy Face Version)

By MARowe