Roger Eno entered the ambient world in 1983 within the body of work known as Apollo (1983). This album was recorded with his brother, Brian Eno, and Daniel Lanois. After that, he recorded and released his solo debut, Voices, a 1985 hypnotic collection of piano treatments that captivated its listeners (haven’t heard it yet…get to it!) Subsequent to the release of those two, he has released 32 additional albums including collaborations. In short, Roger Eno is an artist all to himself, and in no need of compositional help from anyone, including Brian Eno. But they do sound beautiful together!

On October 13, Deutsche Grammophon will release their second label set from Roger Eno with The Skies, They Shift Like Chords…. This new album will contain twelve new piano and strings compositions that should enrapture listeners as easily as almost anything he has done. The new album has a track available as a single – “Tidescape”, which can be heard below.

The Skies, They Shift Like Chords… (stylized in lower case as the skies, they shift like chords…) will be issued on CD, DD, and vinyl LP on black vinyl. A special vinyl LP set includes a signed art card. Pre-order here.

The Skies, They Shift Like Chords…Roger Eno
01 Chordal Drift
02 Tidescape
03 That Which Is Hidden
04 Illusion
05 Above and Below (Crepuscular)
06 Through The Blue (St. Swithin’s)
07 Mind The Gap
08 Arms Open Wide
09 Strangely, I Dreamt
10 Japanese Rain Garden
11 If Only For A Moment
12 Where Does This Lead Us?

By MARowe