The Selecter ska band formed a part of the burgeoning Ska revival that showed up in the late ’70s, often via 2 Tone Records. Comprised of seven band members, The Selecter lasted until 1981 before dissolving. Despite having created just two albums – Too Much Pressure (1980), Celebrate The Bullet (1981) – issued during their height, The Selecter left behind a legacy of music that is revered until this day. The band eventually reformed under various configurations later on and released a string of albums from 1994 on through to 2017. 

On April 23, a newly remastered edition of Too Much Pressure will be released in several configurations that include a packed 3CD Box. Inside, one CD will feature the original album remastered, while CD2 will offer a collection of non-album singles, B-sides, alternate versions, an outtake, several Peel session tracks, 7″ edits, early versions, and other rarities, some previously unreleased. CD3 will contain previously unreleased shows titled as Live In Coventry’s 1979, and Live In Hemel Hampstead 1980. Both shows are newly mixed for this release.

Too Much Pressure will be released on 3CD Box, two color vinyl editions that include a standard black 180g-weight vinyl package and a clear 180g-weight vinyl package, both half-speed remastered. Each vinyl set of the original album will include a 7″ vinyl bonus of “On My Radio” with the B-side of “Too Much Pressure”. The 7″ single was cut at half-speed. If you pre-order (here), then a four-track 7″ vinyl EP of the previously mentioned Live In Hemel Hampstead will be added in. A 20-page booklet is planned for the 3CD box with new notes, photos, credits, and assorted interviews. Finally, an all-inclusive box with 3CD and vinyl color of your choice is being made available.

Too Much Pressure (2021 Remaster) – The Selecter

CD1 (Original Album Remastered)
01 Three Minute Hero
02 Everyday
03 They Make Me Mad
04 Missing Words
05 Danger
06 Street Feeling
07 My Collie (Not A Dog)
08 Too Much Pressure
09 Murder
10 Out On The Streets
11 Carry Go Bring Come
12 Black And Blue
13 James Bond

CD2 (Extras)
01 The Selecter
02 On My Radio
03 Too Much Pressure [B-side Version]
04 Street Feeling [Outtake]
05 They Make Me Mad [John Peel Session 22/11/79]
06 Carry Go Bring Come [John Peel Session 22/11/79]
07 Danger [John Peel Session 22/11/79]
08 Street Feeling [John Peel Session 22/11/79]
09 Three Minute Hero [Alternative Version] *
10 Missing Words [7” Version]
11 Carry Go Bring Come [Live]
12 A Live Injection/Mony Mony
13 Too Much Pressure [Soundcheck] *
14 The Whisper
15 Train To Skaville [7” Version]
16 Cool Blue Lady [Early Version] *
17 Train To Skaville [Extended Version]
18 On My Radio [Ready Mix Radio]
* Previously Unreleased

CD3 (Live – Previously Unreleased)
Live In Coventry 1979
01 Soulful 1 / Murder
02 Out On The Streets
03 James Bond
04 My Collie (Not A Dog)
05 Street Feeling
06 Everyday
07 The Selecter
08 Danger
09 They Make Me Mad
10 Carry Go Bring Come
11 On My Radio
12 Live Injection / Too Much Pressure
Live In Hemel Hempstead 1980
13 Three Minute Hero
14 Black And Blue
15 Missing Words
16 Train To Skaville

* Previously unreleased.

By MARowe