If you remember “Don’t Fear The Reaper”, then you remember Blue Öyster Cult. For nearly 30 years, BÖC released 13 studio albums, and two well-received live sets, On Your Feet Or On Your Knees (1975), and One Enchanted Evening (1978). Their wave of popularity drew heavily on the strength of “Don’t Fear The Reaper”, but easily accelerated for Spectres and its “Godzilla” hit (which took forever for Hollywood to latch onto for the end of a Godzilla movie).

As happens with many bands, their popularity waned leaving them as deep fan favorites the rest of their studio albums after Fire Of Unknown Origin [1981] (home to the hit, “Burnin’ For You”). Their last album was Curse Of The Hidden Mirror, issued in 2001.

On October 9, Blue Öyster Cult (with Eric Bloom, and Buck Dharma from the original band) will release their 14th set, which will be called The Symbol Remains. The new album will contain fourteen new tracks and will be issued via Frontiers Records, who released the band’s recent Live in London 45th Anniversary set.

The Symbol Remains will be released on CD and DD.

The Symbol RemainsBlue Öyster Cult

01 That Was Me
02 Box In My Head
03 Tainted Blood
04 Nightmare Epiphany
05 Edge Of The World
06 The Machine
07 Train True (Lennie’s Song)
08 The Return Of St. Cecilia
09 Stand And Fight
10 Florida Man
11 The Alchemist
12 Secret Road
13 There’s A Crime
14 Fight

By MARowe

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.