Since the arrival of the three young songwriters collectively known as America, they have released a strong body of art that has been enjoyed for many years. It’s easy to realize that over almost five decades of music can also result in more than a few leftovers that includes demos, outtakes, lots of live performances, and other interesting collectibles. CD 5 delivers a new 2020 track, “Remembering”.

In early June, America Records will assemble and release a 7CD/1DVD Boxed set being called Half Century 1970-2020. It collects 30 years of music from the band putting them onto CDs in periods (see below). The DVD contains previously unreleased footage from their early period. I am a bit confused as to why there aren’t collected demos, live performances, and radio shows representing the entire legacy, but hey, not my collection. Nevertheless, this box is another part of a growing list of America releases.

The box will include posters, booklet, memorabilia, buttons, ticket replica, photos, and more. It retails for $160.

Half Century 1970-2020 (Box) – America

CD1 (London Demos 1970 – Previously Unreleased)
Early demos from the Fall of 1970 of the trio preceding their first Warner Bros self-titled album. This set represents the most complete set to date from this era recorded between several iconic London studios of the time.

01 Children (Dick James Session)
02 Riverside (Chalk Farm)
03 Rainy Day (Polydor Studios)
04 Here (Chalk Farm)
05 Satan (Polydor Studios)
06 Bummer (Chalk Farm)
07 Sea of Destiny (Chalk Farm)
08 How Long (Chalk Farm)
09 James Holladay (Dick James Session)
10 Children (Chalk Farm)

CD2 (Bremen 1973 Live In the Studio – Remastered) [Previously Available as DVD]
An on-air live recording of America from 1973, in-between albums, Hat Trick, and Holiday.

01 Ventura Highway
02 I Need You
03 Don’t Cross The River
04 A Horse With No Name
05 Moon Song
06 Lonely People
07 Wind Wave
08 Rainbow Song
09 Tin Man
10 California Revisited
11 Green Monkey

CD3 (Caribou Ranch Sessions – 1976) [Previously Unreleased]
Rehearsals, outtakes, and demos from February, 1976 for the album Hideaway, recorded at the famed Caribou Ranch Studios in the Rockies – Nederland, Colorado.

01 She’s A Liar (Outtake / Alternate Mix)
02 Amber Cascades (Alternate Early Mix)
03 Today’s The Day (Outtake / Walkthrough)
04 Lovely Night (Outtake / Take 1 Session
05 Hideaway PT 1 (Early Band Outtake)
06 Watership Down (Alternate Mix)
07 Letter (Alternate Mix)
08 Lovely Night (Buzz Studio Demo)
09 Jet Boy Blue (Outtake / Alternate Mix)
10 Who Loves You (Alternate Mix)
11 Caribou (Outtakes Montage)
12 I’m New In Town –(Buzz Studio Demo)

CD4 (Poison Oak Sessions – 1981) [Previously Unreleased]
In 1981, between the album Alibi (1980)n and View From The Ground (1982), America recorded several songs at Dewey’s home studio, Poison Oak, in Northern California. This set contains early incarnations and alternate versions of songs released on later America albums as well as unheard songs that have been in the vault until now.

01 Sailors and Seagulls (unheard song)
02 Look at Me Now (Early Version)
03 My Dear (Early Version)
04 Sometimes Lovers (Early Version)
05 All The People – Whole Wide World (Early Version)
06 Coming On (unheard song)
07 Now I Want Your Love (unheard song)
08 Inspector Mills (Early Version)
09 China Sea (unheard song)
Bonus Tracks
10 Doesn’t The Time (unheard song)
11 Someday Forever (unheard song)

CD5 (Alternate 90s – 1995-99) [Previously Unreleased]
Alternate mixes from the albums “Hourglass” (1994) and “Human Nature” (1998) along with unreleased songs that came before, in-between and after these official releases.

01 Young Moon (mix without inst. intro)
02 Call of the Wild (Alternate Early Mix)
03 Sleeper Train (Alternate Early Mix)
04 Ports of Call ((Alternate Early Mix)
05 Mirror to Mirror (Alternate Early Mix)
06 Whole Wide World (Alternate Early Mix)
07 Hope (unheard song)
08 The Hills Are Green (unheard song)
09 Horse (Interlude)
10 From A Moving Train (Single Version – edited shorter intro)
11 Wheels Are Turning (unheard song)
12 Town and Country (unheard song)
13 Moment To Moment (Alternate Mix)
14 Wednesday Morning (unheard song)
15 Oloololo (unheard song)
16 Overwhelming World (Alternate Mix)
17 Moment to Moment (Alternate Mix)
18 Hot Town (unheard song)
19 Pages (Alternate Early Mix)
20 If It Is The End (Previously Unreleased)
21 Remembering (New Song – 2020)

CD6/CD7 (On The Radio – Interviews and Promo) [Previously Unreleased]Various radio interviews stemming from 1974 – 2000’s which provides a narrative and unique overview to the long career span of America.

America Radio Interviews and Promo – The ’70s
America Radio Interviews and Promo – The ’80s
America Radio Interviews and Promo – The ’90s – 2000s

DVD (America – Home Movies Unseen Footage) [Previously Unreleased]
Home Movies is all previously unreleased footage from the bands personal archive. A collection of “fly on the wall” footage, these films provide an amazing insight into the band, shot between 1972 and 1975. They reveal behind the scenes footage of0 Hat Trick at Home, with early attempts at making home music videos and various on the road activities. These films present historical events as they unfolded.
This DVD is EXCLUSIVE to this box set and will not be available beyond it.

01 America Hat Trick at home 1: Rooftop Jam – Green Monkey – 1973 Kings Road, Los Angeles, CA
02 America Hat Trick at home 2: Goodbye – 1973 Kings Road, Los Angeles, CA
03 America Hat Trick at home 3: Sandman – 1973 Kings Road, Los Angeles, CA
04 America Hat Trick at home 4: Hat Trick Rehearsal – 1973 Kings Road, Los Angeles, CA
05 America: Bremen Behind The Scenes – 1973 (No Audio) Bremen, Germany
06 America: Dorothy Chandler Pavilion 1 – 1973 Los Angeles, CA
07 America: Air Studios – London Misc. Footage – 1974 London, England
08 America: Airplane High Jinx 1 – 1974 (No Audio) In the Air
09 America: Airplane High Jinx 2 – 1975 In the Air
10 America: Tour Plane Interview – 1975 On the Ground

By MARowe