Paul Weller has revealed the tracklist for his new album, On Sunset, which sees his return to his original record label, Polydor, after 32 years (his last new music released by Polydor was The Style Council’s 1988 swansong, Confessions Of A Pop Group). He has also shared ‘‘Earth Beat” from the record, featuring guest vocals from US-born teenage singer Col3trane. You can check the track out below.

On Sunset is described as “a soul album. At the same time it’s also an electronic album, an orchestral album, an album packed with masterly pop songs and heart-tugging ballads, and an album filled with touches of experimentalism.” It’s also an album that sees Weller taking a rare glance into the rear-view mirror, as he speeds into the 2020’s.

Weller started work on On Sunset soon after finishing 2018’s True Meanings. The opening track, “Mirror Ball’ was from the True Meanings sessions and originally planned as a B-side. Thankfully, it was rescued for On Sunset as it’s shimmering opener.

As ever, Weller retains a rigorous forward-looking focus when it comes to seeking out the best contemporary sounds and music. But lyrically, Weller is also starting to look back on the past with the insight of age, especially on songs like “Old Father Thyme”.

Most of the album sees Weller multi-tasking on various instruments with accompaniment from his regular band – Ben Gordelier appears on all tracks and Andy Crofts on most, whilst Steve Cradock pops up with his guitar on 4 songs.

An eclectic and sometimes surprising gathering of guests appear on On Sunset, including Slade’s Jim Lea, contributing violin to “Equanimity”, and Weller’s old Style Council sidekick, Mick Talbot, adding his signature Hammond Organ B-3 sound to 3 tracks. The lush “More” features a verse sung by French singer Julie Gros, from the band Le Superhomard (whose album, Meadow Lane Park, was one of Weller’s favorites of 2019), as well as the return of The Strype’s guitarist Josh McClorey. English folk trio The Staves contribute backing vocals for 3 tracks. Once again, Hannah Peel adds her magic over the album with string arrangements and The Paraorchestra were invited to add their expertise to 4 tracks.

On Sunset tracklist:

“Mirror Ball”
“Old Father Thyme”
“On Sunset”
“Earth Beat”

On Sunset will be available Friday, June 12th, 2020.

By Rob Ross

Rob Ross has been involved in the music industry for over 30 years - as guitarist/singer/songwriter with The Punch Line, freelance journalist, producer, manager and working for independent and major record labels. He resides in Staten Island, New York with his wife and cats; he works out a lot, reads voraciously, loves Big Star, traveling down South and his orange Gretsch. He's pretty groovy!