The UK band that goes by the name of UFO released two studio sets before charting with their third album, Phenomenon. Phenomenon was released in 1974 and set the stage for their successful UK/US studio sets (Force It – 1975, No Heavy Petting – 1976, Lights Out – 1977, Obsession – 1978, No Place To Run – 1980), and four others through 1985. Their recent A Conspiracy of Stars, issued in 2015, placed appreciably on worldwide charts. UFO – like Angel, Starz, and other similar hard rock bands from that time frame – has a legion of fans. My brother was one of them, which is how I became exposed to UFO.

On October 11, Chrysalis Records will release a Deluxe Edition of the jump-starting Phenomenon album with all new 2019 remastering (from original analog masters – by Andy Pearce), and expanded by a collection of 8 live performance tracks from their November 5th, 1974 Electric Ballroom show in Atlanta, GA. The set is being reissued on vinyl 2LP (although I assume a CD set will soon materialize. I mean,,,why not, right?!) The 2LP set will add a booklet with new sleeve notes and photos.

UFO is currently celebrating their 50th Anniversary as a unit. Congratulations, guys!

Phenomenon (2LP 2019 Remaster) – UFO

LP1 – Side One (A)
01 Too Young To Know
02 Crystal Light
03 Doctor Doctor
04 Space Child
05 Rock Bottom
LP1 – Side Two (B)
01 Oh My
02 Time On My Hands
03 Built For Comfort
04 Lipstick Traces
05 Queen Of The Deep

LP2 – Side One (A) [Electric Ballroom, Atlanta, Georgia – November 5, 1974]
01 Oh My
02 Doctor Doctor
03 Built For Comfort
04 Give Her The Gun
05 Cold Turkey
LP2 – Side Two (B) [Electric Ballroom, Atlanta, Georgia – November 5, 1974]
01 Space Child
02 Rock Bottom
03 Prince Kujuku

By MARowe

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.