Sigur Rós, a band not as often appreciated for the blends of ambient textures, vocals, and otherwise beautiful flow of composition that make up their inventive and airy albums. By the release of their second album,  Sigur Rós had captured the ears of a growing base of fans. That album was Ágætis byrjun. This classic set was released in 1999 and is considered the band’s best. As we round heavily into 2019, it’s recognized that this album has been available for 20 years. To date, it has sold around 750,000 copies.

On June 14, a mere two days after the original June 12 (1999) release date, KRK/Krunk Records will celebrate the 20th Anniversary of  Ágætis byrjun (translated A Good Beginning) with a 4CD Special Edition. With the original album on CD1, remastered, and two CDs with a legendary 95-minute 1999 live set, Live at Islenska Óperan (some previously unreleased performance tracks),  3 demo tracks, another live performance track from 1999 (“Debata mandire” at Laugardashöll), and a track extraction from  Ný batterí EP (2000) called “Rafmagnið búið”. CD4 provides a collection of rarities (see track-list below).

In addition to the generous 4CD set, a 2LP 180g-weight vinyl package is also available. The vinyl set will only provide the original album on vinyl but will provide an insert for DD rights for the live and rarities collection found in the 4CD package. 

Ágætis byrjun (20th Anniversary) – Sigur Rós

CD1 (Original Album)
01 Svefn-g-englar
02 Starálfur
03 Flugufrelsarinn
04 Ný batterí
05 Hjartað hamast (bamm bamm bamm)
06 Viðrar vel til loftárása
07 Olsen Olsen
08 Ágætis byrjun
09 Avalon

CD2 (Live at Islenska Óperan, Reykjavik, 1999)
01 Intro
02 Von 
03 Syndir guðs
04 Flugufrelsarinn
05 Olsen Olsen
06 Ágaetis byrjun
07 Viðrar vel til loftárása 
08 Svefn-g-englar

CD3 (Live at Islenska Óperan, Reykjavik, 1999; Rarities)
01 Ný batterí 
02 Hafsól – 
03 Nýja lagið 
04 Song 1 (Demo)
05 Song 2 (Demo)
06 Song 3 (Demo)
07 Debata mandire (Live at Laugardashöll,
08 Rafmagnið búið (From Ný batterí EP, 2000)

CD4 (Rarities)
01 Svefn-g-englar (Live at Popp í Reykjavík,
02 Starálfur (Original speed version)
03 Flugufrelsarinn (1998 Demo)
04 Ný Batteri (Instrumental)
05 Hjartað hamast (bamm bamm bamm) (1995
06 Viðrar vel til loftárása (Alternative ending)
07 Olsen Olsen (1998 Demo)
08 Ágaetis byrjun (1998 Demo)

By MARowe