Primal Scream has a presence in your life…or they don’t, simple as that. Having begun back in the early ’80s, the band has gone through a wide array of sound and styles that fit the era they’ve moved into. Many people still scrunch up their brows when you ask them if they have heard them, or of them. Nevertheless, Primal Scream is a seriously enjoyable band. If you’re unaware, there’s no better time than the present to acquaint yourself.

On May 24, a 2CD collection of Primal Scream singles from across all of their eleven studio gems including their 1991 UK breakout hit album, Screamadelica, will be released. The two CDs will provide single tracks and remixes, 31 in all. The set is being called Maximum Rock ‘n’ Roll: The Singles. All tracks are newly remastered for this set.

A 180g-weight 2LP set will also be made available.

If you’re curious, this is a great selection of tunes to investigate with.

Maximum Rock ‘n Roll: The SinglesPrimal Scream

01 Velocity Girl
02 Gentle Tuesday
03 Imperial
04 Ivy Ivy Ivy
05 Loaded
06 Come Together
07 Higher Than the Sun (The Orb Mix)
08 Don’t Fight It, Feel It (7″ Edit)
09 Movin’ on Up
10 Rocks
11 Jailbird
12 (I’m Gonna) Cry Myself Blind
13 Kowalski
14 Star
15 Burning Wheel
16 Swastika Eyes
17 Kill All Hippies (Brendan Lynch Edit)

01 Accelerator
02 Miss Lucifer
03 Autobahn 66
04 Some Velvet Morning – Primal Scream feat. Kate Moss
05 Country Girl
06 Dolls (Sweet Rock and Roll)
07 Sometimes I Feel So Lonely
08 Can’t Go Back
09 Uptown
10 2013
11 It’s Alright, It’s OK
12 Goodbye Johnny
13 Where the Light Gets In – Primal Scream feat. Sky Ferreira
14 100% or Nothing

By MARowe