There aren’t a ton of bands out in the annals of Rock that carry the heft that The Band has. From their first album, Music From Big Pink (released in 1968, therefore the album’s 50th Anniversary), until their last, the appropriately titled, Islands, essentially a collection of unused outtakes released in 1977, The Band forged an enduring legacy highlighted by their magnificent The Last Waltz.

There were singles (“The Weight”, “Up On Cripple Creek”, “The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down”) but not many lit the fancy of listeners. Nevertheless, The Band became as popular a Rock band as there are in the history books.

On August 31, Capitol Records will celebrate the 50th Anniversary of Music From Big Pink (which is home to “The Weight”, and the haunting cover of “I Shall Be Released”). With the reissue, the album will be presented in a Super Deluxe package with not a remaster but a REMIX of the original album. In addition to that, a 5.1 Surround mix will be included as well as Hi-Res Stereo in 96kHz/24-bit.

A hardbound book with essay (although I wish that another had authored it), photos, and a treasure chest of information and credits is part of the Super Deluxe set. A bonus if a 7″ single of “The Weight” b/w “I Shall Be Released” is a part of the collection. All in all, there will be CD, 2LP (black vinyl), BD (with 5.1, and hi-res Stereo), 7″ vinyl single, and the book.

There will be a collection of six previously available (but remixed) outtakes and alternate included with the original set. (Sigh!)

The 50th Anniversary edition of the original Music From Big Pink will be released in the mentioned Super Deluxe package, but will also be issued on 2LP 180g-weight black vinyl, and a specially produced pink vinyl 2LP set (the pink vinyl is acquired only by mail-order). A single CD of the original album in the new mix is planned for release as well.

(I should have known this was coming with the June 22 reissue of this title remastered for DD.)

Music From Big Pink (50th Anniversary)The Band

01 – Tears Of Rage
02 – To Kingdom Come
03 – In A Station
04 – Caledonia Mission
05 – The Weight
06 – We Can Talk
07 – Long Black Veil
08 – Chest Fever
09 – Lonesome Suzie
10 – This Wheel’s On Fire
11 – I Shall Be Released
Bonus Tracks
12 – Yazoo Street Scandal (Outtake)
13 – Tears Of Rage (Alternate Take)
14 – Long Distance Operator’(Outtake)
15 – Lonesome Suzie (Alternate Take)
16 – Key To The Highway’(Outtake)
17 – I Shall Be Released (A Cappella)


By MARowe