If you count of the chart conquests that came from Aretha Franklin, well…the list is long. My first brush with the great lady of soul was on Top40. I believe the song was “RESPECT”. But I fell in love with the Queen with her rendition of “Spanish Harlem”. Nevertheless, her music has become essential to the world of the era of Rock. Throughout her tenure, she has given the world more than we can properly enjoy.

On November 10, Atlantic Records will release a ten-track album pairing Aretha Franklin’s classic vocals from her iconic tunes with The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra. Drawing from the rich vaults of her Atlantic Records libraries to select the great tunes that we all know and love will prove to be a richer experience (see track list below).

The new album is being called A Brand New Me. While the Aretha Franklin vocals are classic, they will be newly backed up with vocals with Patti Austin. With all of this, the classic Atlantic-era Aretha songs are reimagined in a way that will surprise us, I’m sure.

A Brand New Me will be made available on CD, DD, and vinyl LP. “(You Make Me Feel Like) A Natural Woman” with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra will debut on October 27.

A Brand New Me – Aretha Franklin With The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

01 Think
02 Don’t Play That Song (You Lied)
03 I Say A Little Prayer
04 Until You Come Back To Me (That’s What I’m Gonna Do)
05 A Brand New Me
06 (You Make Me Feel Like) A Natural Woman
07 Angel
08 Border Song (Holy Moses)
09 Let It Be
10 People Get Ready
11 Oh Me Oh My (I’m A Fool For You Baby)
12 You’re All I Need To Get By
13 Son Of A Preacher Man
14 Respect


By MARowe