GovtMule Dark side Of The MuleWith a twenty year anniversary coming up, Warren Haynes’ popular side project to his normal duties as guitarist for The Allman Brothers Band, of Gov’t Mule will celebrate with the release of several live sets. One of them will be a new live set featuring a show from their 2008 Halloween set at the Orpheum Theatre in Boston. In that show, Haynes and Co. played out many song covers of Pink Floyd extending the selections over the history of Pink Floyd releases. The album is being called The Dark Side Of The Mule in a nod to the great band they borrowed the songs from.

Set for release on December 9th via Evil Teen Records, Dark Side Of The Mule will feature 79 minutes of classic Floyd tracks (“One Of These Days”, “Fearless”, “Pigs On The Wing, Pt. 2”, “Shine On You Crazy Diamond, Pts. 1 – 5”, “Have A Cigar”, “Breathe (In The Air)”, “Time”, “Money”, “Comfortably Numb”, “Shine On You Crazy Diamond, Pts. 6 – 9”, “Wish You Were Here”). But more interesting will be the 3CD/1DVD Deluxe Edition that will present more classic Pink Floyd songs in the only way that Gov’t Mule can deliver them, and a CD of Gov’t Mule tracks performed live (see track-list below). What will make that Deluxe Edition superior – besides the entire audio – will be the DVD featuring the entire show. So, not only do you get the audio, you can have the video document as well.

In addition to the two CD configurations, there will be a 2LP vinyl set that will present the same content of the single CD offering over four sides. After your desired musical selections are made, you can sharpen the deal with either a t-shirt, and/or a throw blanket, each with the album art on the fabric. Finally, there are the usual MP3 availability.

So, whether you’re a Pink Floyd fan, or a Gov’t Mule fan – or both – you can plug into an exciting mix of greatness. I’m excited!


01 – Brighter Days
02 – Bad Little Doggie
03 – Brand New Angel
04 – Gameface
05 – Trane / Eternity’s Breath / St. Stephen Jam
06 – Monkey Hill
07 – Child Of The Earth
08 – Kind Of Bird


01 – One Of These Days
02 – Fearless
03 – Pigs On The Wing, Pt. 2
04 – Shine On You Crazy Diamond, Pts. 1 – 5
05 – Have A Cigar
06 – Speak To Me
07 – Breathe (In The Air)
08 – On The Run
09 – Time
10 – The Great Gig In The Sky
11 – Money
12 – Comfortably Numb


01 – Shine On You Crazy Diamond, Pts. 6 – 9
02 – Wish You Were Here
03 – Million Miles From Yesterday
04 – Blind Man In The Dark


Entire concert performance


By MARowe

2 thoughts on “Gov’t Mule To Release Live Set, Dark Side Of The Mule, In December”
  1. looks like the deluxe has other songs, not 23 total pink Floyd songs, as your article indicates?

Comments are closed.