As 2021 marches along (and it IS marching along at a rapid rate, it seems), so do the reissues for classic 50th Anniversary celebrations of some titles. For The Grateful Dead, which has a solid following even among newer generations who were not around at their peak, the albums, in their order, are moving along. Last year, Workingman’s Dead arrived in definitive CD and LP editions. The year before it was Aoxomoxoa. Now, it’s the turn for the ‘Skull and Roses’ collected live tracks album officially titled Grateful Dead.

On August 6, Rhino will unleash a 2CD and a separately available 2LP (Black) 180g-weight vinyl 50th Anniversary set for fans. The album, of course, will be newly remastered for this package. It will also contain a previously unreleased July 2, 1971 concert from The Fillmore West in San Francisco, CA as the expanded bonus disc. This set will also be made available on DD format in both the expanded edition and the remastered album only. Hi-res DD (FLAC and ALAC) can be purchased at There will also be a limited edition collectable black and white propeller-colored vinyl set that is limited to 5,000 copies only.

The Grateful DeadGrateful Dead (aka Skull & Roses)

CD1/LP1 (Original Live Album Remastered)
01 Bertha
02 Mama Tried
03 Big Railroad Blues
04 Playing in the Band
05 The Other One
06 Me & My Uncle
07 Big Boss Man
08 Me & Bobby McGee
09 Johnny B. Goode
10 Wharf Rat
11 Not Fade Away/Goin’ Down the Road Feeling Bad

CD2/LP2 (Live at Fillmore West – San Francisco on July 2, 1971 – previously unreleased)
01 Good Lovin’
02 Sing Me Back Home
03 Mama Tried
04 Cryptical Envelopment
05 Drums
06 The Other One
07 Big Boss Man
08 Not Fade Away
09 Goin’ Down the Road Feelin’ Bad
10 Not Fade Away


By MARowe

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.