For many, Al Stewart was excellent Folk/Rock when he released his 1976 classic set, Year Of The Cat. For others, it was confirmation of their love of the singer/songwriter and his earlier, lesser know (still) gems like Modern Times (1975), and Past, Present and Future (1973). When Al Stewart released Time Passages in 1978, the rails were greased and the locomotive was steaming. Two hits rose from that album and performed well (“Time Passages”, “Song On The Radio”). By 1980, Al Stewart had a new band with Shot In The Dark, and 24 Carrots was the next release. 24 Carrots charted well but was not as well received by a changing audience. Nevertheless, 24 Carrots was still essential Al Stewart for fans.

On November 27, Esoteric Recordings (Cherry Red UK) will help 24 Carrots celebrate its 40th Anniversary with a 3CD set that brings a new remaster of the album, and expands 24 Carrots with previously unreleased music in the form of demo sessions in the studio, and a live recording from Hammersmith Odeon in London.

CD1, of course, delivers the original album remastered, and a small selection of bonus tracks that include two rare single mixes. The second CD offers the LA demo sessions at Davlen Studios in 1979, and finishes with a CD of the December 10, 1980 Hammersmith Odeon show on the 24 Carrots tour.

The set will add in a booklet with photos, a new essay, and an interview with Al Stewart. 

24 Carrots (40th Anniversary Edition) – Al Stewart

CD1 (Original Album Remastered/Bonus Tracks)
01 Running Man
02 Midnight Rocks
03 Constantinople
04 Merlin’s Time
05 Mondo Sinistro
06 Murmansk Run/Ellis Island
07 Rocks In The Ocean
08 Paint By Numbers
09 Optical Illusion
Bonus Tracks
10 Running Man (Single Version)
11 Paint By Numbers (Single Version)

CD2 (Demo Sessions for 24 Carrots – Davlen Studios LA – August 1979 – Previously Unreleased)
01 Midnight Rocks
02 Murmansk Run/Ellis Island
03 Running Man (Instrumental Demo)
04 Paint By Numbers
05 Jackdaw
06 The World Goes To Riyadh
07 Merlin’s Time (Instrumental Demo)
08 Ringing of Bells

CD3 (Live at Hammersmith Odeon – London – December 10, 1980 – Previously Unreleased)
01 Running Man
02 Time Passages
03 Broadway Hotel 
04 Mondo Sinistro
05 Roads To Moscow
06 On The Border
07 Year Of The Cat
08 If It Doesn’t Come Naturally, Leave It

By MARowe