As we no doubt know you’re aware of, there’s a nasty bug going around disrupting everything. At best it is doing damage to businesses both big and small. At worst, it is killing people.

When you think about it, independent artists are small business owners. Already, the low return rate from streaming has harmed their incomes, with live performances being the only solid way of gaining revenue, until now.

With all venues either facing severe curfews or complete shutdown until further notice, this last revenue stream for artists has now effectively been halted.

The website Bandcamp is doing something about it. It will forgo collecting its share of revenue from sales on the site made this Friday, March 20, the company announced on Tuesday, March 17. The initiative will be active from 12:00 a.m. to 11:59 p.m Pacific time. All sales will go to the artists and can assist greatly in this time of crisis.

MusicTAP asks that you give a listen to their music on Friday while you are practicing social distancing and caught up in shelter-in-place quarantine procedures. If you like what you hear, PLEASE consider buying the music. Again, for this one-day window, Bandcamp will NOT take their cut and the money will go to support these artists.

Below are but a few to consider, but please consider!

Thanks, and let us all do our part to flatten the curve without losing our incomes.

The Lost Dogs https://thelostdogs.bandcamp.com

Josh Lory/Young Earth Records https://youngearthrecords.bandcamp.com

KLANK https://music.klanknation.com

Chris Neri https://chrisneri.bandcamp.com/

Curtis Eiler https://curtiseller.bandcamp.com

the b-attitudes https://theb-attitudes.bandcamp.com/

The 77’s https://the77s.bandcamp.com/track/caught-in-an-unguarded-moment-4

CurryCuts Music Label currycuts.bandcamp.com

Chris Taylor (“All albums are $6.00”) https://christaylor.bandcamp.com

Kerosene Halo https://kerosenehalo.net

Eric Grubbs/Caved Mountains https://cavedmountains.bandcamp.com/releases

Sills and Smith https://sillsandsmith.bandcamp.com/ https://sillssmith.bandcamp.com/

James Byron Schoen/Edensong http://edensong.bandcamp.com

Rick Barry https://rickbarry.bandcamp.com

Bram Cools https://bramcools.bandcamp.com/

Michael Roe https://michaelroe.bandcamp.com

Dann Gunn https://danngunn.bandcamp.com/

Ric Alba https://ricalba.bandcamp.com/releases

Phil Keaggy https://philkeaggy.bandcamp.com

Eve Selis https://eveselis.bandcamp.com

Terry Scott Taylor/Daniel Amos Https://danielamosboots.bandcamp.com

The Seventy Sevens https://the77s.bandcamp.com

Gretchen’s Wheel https://gretchenswheel.bandcamp.com/

Paul Melancon https://paulmelancon.bandcamp.com/

Undercover https://undercover.bandcamp.com/

Michael Knott https://knott.bandcamp.com/

Creeping Hush https://creepinghush.bandcamp.com/

L.S. Underground https://lsunderground.bandcamp.com/

Pugwash https://pugwashtheband.bandcamp.com/

The Successful Failures https://music.thesuccessfulfailures.com/

Jeff Elbel + Ping https://ping.bandcamp.com/

And How andhow1.bandcamp.com

By Torchlight bytorchlight.bandcamp.com

Spiderfence https://spiderfence.bandcamp.com/

Golems of the Red Planet http://golemsoftheredplanet.bandcamp.com

Cait Brennan https://caitbrennan.bandcamp.com/music

Ojo Taylor https://ojotaylor.bandcamp.com/

Steve Layton https://stevelayton.bandcamp.com/

Dolph Chaney http://bigstirrecords.bandcamp.com/album/rebuilding-permit

Jim O’Dell https://jimodell.bandcamp.com

The John Sally Ride https://thejohnsallyride.bandcamp.com/

Andy Tillison/The Tangent https://andytangent.bandcamp.com/

Craig Carlstrom/Orbis Max http://orbismax.bandcamp.com/

William Steffey https://williamsteffey.bandcamp.com/

Derri Daugherty https://derridaugherty.bandcamp.com/

Eric Matthews https://ericmatthews.bandcamp.com/

Altar Boys https://thealtarboys.bandcamp.com/

Futureman Records https://futuremanrecords.bandcamp.com/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.