MusicTAP is pleased to bring to you the first track from Rotoscope’s new album, Permanent Daylight.

Founded by veteran Charlottesville (and D.C.) musician John Athayde, Rotoscope’s highly-anticipated Permanent Daylight is an exploration of electronic soundscapes centered around memorable pop hooks and melodies. The production on Permanent Daylight draws heavily from the work of Depeche Mode, Portishead, and Brian Eno: employing a modern edge that makes it captivating and relevant in its own unique way.

The album features contributions from Leyla Akdogan of L.A.’s Loch & Key, among several guest vocalists and musicians who join Athayde in a rotating cast. The album follows Rotoscope’s Clean Lines E.P. which Atwood Magazine called a “magnificent encapsulation of a shattered society.” 

Rotoscope was started as a side project of Athayde’s notable D.C. group,m Juniper Lane, who enjoyed several years of independent success and supported Coldplay at a stop on their massive Viva La Vida world tour.

Permanent Daylight will be released in January, 2020.

By Rob Ross

Rob Ross has been involved in the music industry for over 30 years - as guitarist/singer/songwriter with The Punch Line, freelance journalist, producer, manager and working for independent and major record labels. He resides in Staten Island, New York with his wife and cats; he works out a lot, reads voraciously, loves Big Star, traveling down South and his orange Gretsch. He's pretty groovy!