It’s been a while that the rumors of a SUPER Deluxe package of Sgt Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band, the universally acknowledged Beatles album that helped to change Rock and Roll in scope and direction, was being released. As of yesterday (04/04/17), that confirmed bit of news literally exploded across the internet with the flash of an incoming comet. And with good reason. Folks just seem to revere this album with the tenacity of a newfound love. And so:

On May 26, Parlophone will offer several editions of this time-honored classic that includes a pricey 6-disc ‘must have’ Box, a 2LP vinyl set, a 2CD edition, and a single CD for those that only need the original in its newly remixed form. While it’s going to be difficult even for uber-fans to jump into the costly multi-disc set, I’ve no doubt that it will sell well. But I’m reasonably sure the sales marks will hit astronomically for the 2CD set.

The original album will be reintroduced with a brand new remix of the essential classic. That’s the best news of all. But, when you need more, there will be:

CD – The original tracks, remixed.

2CD – The original album along with a CD of bonus sessions tracks that include multiple takes of songs that you’re familiar with and which might be great fun to hear against the chosen takes.

CD 1 -Original Album 2017 Stereo Mix

CD 2 – Bonus Tracks
01. Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band – Take 9
02. With A Little Help From My Friends -Take 1 with false start, Take 2 instrumental
03. Lucy In The Sky With Diamonds – Take 1
04. Getting Better – Take 1
05. Fixing A Hole – Take 3
06. She’s Leaving Home – Take 1
07. Being For The Benefit Of Mr. Kite! -Take 4
08. Within You Without You – Take 1
09. When I’m Sixty-Four – Take 2
10.  Lovely Rita – Take 9
11.  Good Morning Good Morning – Take 8
12.  Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band (Reprise) – Take 8
13.  A Day In The Life – Take 1
14.  Strawberry Fields Forever – Take 7
15.  Strawberry Fields Forever – Take 26
16.  Strawberry Fields Forever – 2015 Stereo Mix
17.  Penny Lane – Take 6
18.  Penny Lane –  2017 Stereo Mix

6Disc Box – This will include the two CD found on the 2CD set PLUS another CD of more takes, a CD of MONO mixes of the first two CDs, a BD (Blu-ray), and a DVD. The BD, and DVD both contain 5.1 Surround mixes with the BD adding in a Surround mix for DTS Master Audio HD. For the Stereo tracks, the BD adds 96kHz/24-bit files. Both DVD and BD will provide The Making of Sgt Pepper (1992, restored), and 4k Promo videos of “A Day In The Life”, “Strawberry Fields Forever”, and “Penny Lane”.

2LP – Original Album, and Tracks from CD2 on 180g-weight vinyl.

You can expect great books within each packages. The 2CD set offers a 50-page booklet, while the Super Deluxe Box provides a 144-page hardbound book.

Have fun!


By MARowe