By now you should have heard of the UK band blessed by Paul Weller. They go by the name of The Rifles. Thus far, their recorded output has been stellar. To date, they have five studio albums beginning with No Love Lost, released in 2006. That album was critically acclaimed and earned them the rabid attention of Paul Weller of The Jam/Style Council/solo. No Love Lost ended up on the UK charts at 48. With all of their albums, they have always  hit the high marks.

Their last album, Big Life, was released last year (2016), and effortlessly reached 26 on the UK charts. Earlier this year, the band entered Abbey Road Studios to record an acoustic album set. This new album is being called The Rifles Unplugged Album and will feature sixteen tracks, most taken from their five studio albums. The music is no only recorded acoustically but will also feature a string quartet. Some songs will also present a 30-member fan choir. As a bonus, there will be a brand new track, “In Key”. (Pre-ordering the album will net you this as an immediate download. Hear the new track below.)

The Rifles Unplugged Album was available with color vinyl but those seem to have sold out pretty fast. They were offering a white vinyl set, and a grey marble set (as of this writing, there was one left here).

The Rifles Unplugged Album is scheduled for release on  April 28 via Cooking Vinyl.

Unplugged Album – The Rifles

01 – The General
02 – Out in the Past
03 – Local Boy
04 – In Key
05 – Minute Mile
06 – The Great Escape
07 – Spend a Lifetime
08 – Rock the Boat
09 – Motorway
10 – The Hardest Place to Find Me
11 – Tangled up in Love
12 – You Win Some
13 – For the Meantime
14 – Coming Home (Rifles Choir)
15 – Romeo & Julie (Rifles Choir)
16 – Under and Over (Rifles Choir)


By MARowe